MOPA

On Sunday, April 14th, Gareth and I made our way to the Museum of Photography Arts in San Diego, CA. I rarely go to museums and places like that because overall I find it pretty boring, but this was my first time going to a Photography museum and honestly, I really enjoyed it and exceeded my expectations. I’m really glad that we got to go there and see all of those amazing photos and arts. The photographer that caught my attention was Michael Cook and his three photographs, but my favorite one is called “Kangaroo”. In his photos he plays a lot with photoshop, making it clear the aspect of realism. In his photographs he represents what would be most likely the end of the time, reprsented by animals and people. Michael uses a lot of his criativity and imagination in his art, and this is what intrigues me most, the fact that by just one photo he’s able to show so much. As I was making my way through the exhibition, another artist that I really enjoyed her work was Tracey Moffatt. I like the lightning and the shadows contrasted with the colors. Another thing that I noticed is that all of her photographs have some kind of smoke in it, which adds a lot to what she’s trying to say through her work. My photos were inspired by Polixeni Papapetrou, Tracey Moffatt, Ricky Maynard and Jim Naughten. Although I had a fun time shooting these photos, I found quite hard to do so, because it’s not always easy to inspire your photos on someone else’s work.

Leave a comment